FANDOM


Founder

A community's founder is automatically given admin and bureaucrat rights during the community's creation. This allows them to edit the community's skin and format. As more contributors join, it's a good idea for founders to appoint trusted users as admins, Content Moderators, Discussion Moderators, and rollbacks.

Administrators

Administrators (also known as "Admins" or "Sysops") are trusted users, who are generally chosen by the community and also have access to the following rights:

  • All privileges from the Discussions Moderator and Content Moderator groups.
  • Block users who are vandalizing the wiki from editing and other actions.
  • Grant and revoke both the Chat Moderator and Discussion Moderator rights.
  • Edit the community's skin and format.
  • Edit whitelisted MediaWiki pages.

Bureaucrats

Bureaucrats are one level 'up' from administrators. Bureaucrats only have the ability to manipulate user rights, as well as block and unblock users, so this right is generally used in addition to the administrator group. They have the ability to promote and revoke rollback, Content Moderator and administrator rights as well as appointing new bureaucrats. While they cannot directly revoke another user's bureaucrat status, they can revoke their own. Bureaucrats also have the ability to revoke a user's bot status in case the bot is malfunctioning, but community consensus is required for the addition of users' bot status.

Discussions Moderators

Discussions Moderators are users who have additional tools available to manage conversations in various features across the community where users are having social discussions. These tools are:

  • Removing and restoring threads and replies from any user.
  • Closing and reopening threads
  • Ability to manage Forum boards
  • Move threads from one board to another
  • Highlight and un-highlight threads.
  • Moderating chat
  • Deleting blog comments
  • Editing and deleting article comments
  • Moderating the Discussions feature, if enabled.

Content Moderators

Content Moderators are users who have additional tools available to moderate specific parts of the community. These tools are:

  • Deleting and moving protected pages
  • Deleting and moving files
  • Undeleting pages and files
  • Rollback
  • Reupload files
  • Protecting and unprotecting pages

Rollbacks

Anyone can revert vandalism and bad-faith edits, but it takes a couple of clicks in the page history to get it done. Users with the "rollback" tool can undo bad edits with one click, by using the rollback link on diff pages, user contributions list, or the list of recent changes. It is important to note that Content Moderators and admins already have rollback rights by default. The right can be optional for a user to have rollback and admin combined, but it will not add extra speed and strength even with slower internet connections. Users with rollback rights are just users who are not necessarily an admin.

Chat Moderators

Chat moderators are users who have chat moderator status in chat to moderate a community's chat room. They can block users from chat, which will kick a user out of the chat and ban them from returning until a chat moderator or an admin unbans them from the users contributions page, or if the ban expires.

See Also

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.